TUM Mumbai

TUM has maintained partnerships with some of the most prestigious Indian universities since 2001. From 2011 on, TUM has been present in India with a representative as a first contact point for interested students and scientists.

In November 2014 TUM established its own liaison office at the Indo-German Chamber of Commerce in Mumbai. Additionally, TUM is a member of the German House for Research and Innovation New Delhi (DWIH), the main association of German scientific organizations in India.

TUM Mumbai acts as an interface between India and TUM. The liaison office was launched to further raise TUM’s visibility and strengthen its international reputation as one of Europe’s leading universities. 

TUM Mumbai is one of six liaison offices in addition to Beijing, Brussels, Cairo, São Paulo and San Francisco. Already in 2002, TUM established its own offshore campus TUM Asia in Singapore. The expansion of a global presence is part of the initiative TUM Global, a core piece of TUM's institutional strategy which was part of its successful application within the German Excellence Initiative.

Services

  • Cooperation support: facilitating scientific exchange and intensifying research cooperation with Indian universities, scientific institutions and the industry  
  • Counseling and recruiting: support, counseling and recruiting of highly qualified students and scientists for TUM by attending selected info sessions and the organisation of pre-departure webinars and PhD-workshops 
  • Networking: cultivating relationships and the establishment of contacts with local stakeholders for a targeted networking of TUM in India as well as maintaining the alumni network
  • Knowledge brokering: analysis of the Indian higher education and research sector as well as providing regional expertise to TUM members 

Events 2019

April 2019, Indo-German Seminar: Bauhaus @100

April 8, 2019, New Delhi

Commemorating 100 years of Bauhaus, the Architecture Department of the TUM partner university IIT Roorkee is organizing an Indo-German Seminar at the German Embassy New Delhi.

April 2019, DWIH New Delhi Board Meeting

April 9, 2019, New Delhi

TUM is a member of the German House for Research and Innovation (DWIH) New Delhi. The liaison office frequently cooperates with the DWIH to organize various scientific events.

April 2019, "Postdoc and PhD in Life Sciences" DFG Interactive Session

April 25, 2019, New Delhi

The DFG is organizing an interactive session on "Postdoc and PhD in Life Sciences" at the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) in Delhi. The TUM Mumbai office will participate in the event and give a presentation about the TUM School of Life Sciences Weihenstephan.

Highlights

150 years of TUM: TUM Mumbai celebrates anniversary at the German Embassy, New Delhi

Together with the German House for Research and Innovation (DWIH) New Delhi, the TUM Mumbai office organized an “Indo-German Dialogue: Universities as Enablers of Excellence in Entrepreneurship” at the German Embassy in Delhi on October 31, 2018. The event was rounded off by an evening reception in honor of TUM’s 150-year anniversary.

Professor Juliane Winkelmann, TUM Senior Vice President for International Alliances and Alumni, gave a talk on „Fostering Innovation and Entrepreneurship since 1868“ at the Indo-German Dialogue. With her speech she emphasized TUM’s ambitions in entrepreneurship and its culture of excellence since its beginnings as a polytechnic school. Dr. Anil Wadi, Managing Director at the Foundation For Innovation And Technology Transfer at the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Delhi, TUM’s longstanding partner university, then provided an insight into an Indian best practice for an innovative entrepreneurship ecosystem.

The event was completed with a dinner reception to celebrate 150 years of TUM. Among the 100 guests were local partners, supporters and friends of TUM as well as TUM alumni such as Susmita Sinha, a sponsor of a German National Scholarship for TUM. To mark the 150th anniversary of TUM, there was a special birthday cake in the shape of the Taj Mahal, which all the well-wishers enjoyed together in a relaxed atmosphere.

TUM Mumbai

Im Zuge ihrer Internationalisierungsstrategie eröffnete die TUM im November 2014 ein eigenes Verbindungsbüro in Indien. Das Büro befindet sich bei der Deutsch-Indischen Handelskammer in Mumbai.

Seit 2011 ist die TUM mit einem Liaison Officer als erstem Anlaufpunkt für interessierte indische Studierende und Wissenschaftlerinnen sowie Wissenschaftler in Indien vertreten. Bereits seit 2001 unterhält die TUM Partnerschaften zu den renommiertesten indischen Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen und ist Mitglied im Deutschen Wissenschafts- und Innovationshaus New Delhi (DWIH).

TUM Mumbai dient als Schnittstelle zwischen Indien und der TUM. Das Verbindungsbüro trägt zur Erhöhung der Visibilität der TUM in Indien bei und stärkt deren internationale Reputation als eine der führenden Universitäten Europas. 

TUM Mumbai ist eines der sechs Verbindungsbüros neben Brüssel, Kairo, Peking, San Francisco und São Paulo. Bereits im Jahre 2002 gründete die TUM ihren Campus in Singapur, TUM Asia. Der Ausbau der globalen Präsenz ist Teil der TUM Global Initiative, die ein Kernstück der institutionellen Strategie der TUM im Rahmen der erfolgreichen Bewerbung bei der Exzellenzinitiative war.

Serviceleistungen

  • Kooperationsassistenz: Unterstützung bei der Anbahnung und Intensivierung des Wissenschaftsaustausches sowie der Forschungskooperationen mit Universitäten, Forschungseinrichtungen und der Industrie vor Ort
  • Studienberatung und Rekrutierung: Gezielte Betreuung, Beratung und Anwerbung von herausragenden Studierenden und NachwuchswissenschaftlerInnen für die TUM durch die Teilnahme an ausgewählten Informationsveranstaltungen und die Organisation von Pre-Departure Webinaren und PhD-Workshops
  • Netzwerkbildung: Beziehungspflege und Kontaktaufbau zu lokalen Akteuren zur gezielten Vernetzung der TUM in Indien sowie Alumni-Netzwerkpflege
  • Wissensvermittlung: Analyse des indischen Hochschul- und Forschungssektors sowie die Bereitstellung regionaler Expertise für TUM-Mitarbeitende

Veranstaltungen 2019

August 2019, DAAD ReDiscover Germany: Focus on Research

19. August 2019, Pune

TUM Mumbai wird an der Informationsveranstaltung des DAAD "ReDiscover Germany: Focus on Research" in Pune teilnehmen und über Studien-, Forschungs- sowie Austauschmöglichkeiten mit der TUM informieren.

September 2019, Besuch der Deutschen Schule (DSB) Mumbai

11. September 2019, Mumbai

TUM Mumbai wird an der Informationsveranstaltung der Deutschen Schule (DSB) in Mumbai teilnehmen und dort über Studienmöglichkeiten an der TUM informieren.

Oktober 2019, DWIH Neu Delhi Beiratssitzung

7. Oktober 2019, Neu-Delhi

TUM Mumbai ist Mitglied des Deutschen Wissenschafts- und Innovationshaus (DWIH) Neu-Delhi und kooperiert regelmäßig mit dem DWIH für diverse wissenschaftliche Veranstaltungen.

Highlights

150 Jahre TUM: TUM Mumbai feiert TUM Jubiläum an der Deutschen Botschaft, Neu-Delhi

Gemeinsam mit dem Deutschen Wissenschafts- und Innovationshaus (DWIH) Neu-Delhi organisierte das TUM Mumbai-Büro am 31. Oktober 2018 einen „Indo-German Dialogue: Universities as Enablers of Excellence in Entrepreneurship” an der Deutschen Botschaft in Delhi. Abgerundet wurde das Event mit einem Abendempfang zu Ehren des 150-jährigen Jubiläums der TUM.

Professorin Juliane Winkelmann, Senior Vice President für Internationale Allianzen und Alumni der TUM hielt anlässlich des Indo-German Dialogues einen Vortrag zum Thema „Fostering Innovation and Entrepreneurship since 1868“. Damit unterstrich sie die Leistungen der TUM im Entrepreneurship-Bereich und ihre Kultur der Exzellenz seit den Anfängen als Polytechnische Hochschule. Dr. Anil Wadi, Geschäftsführer der Foundation For Innovation And Technology Transfer am Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Delhi, einer langjährigen Partneruniversität der TUM, gab anschließend Einblicke in ein indisches Best-Practice-Beispiel eines innovativen Entrepreneurship-Ökosystems.

Das Event wurde mit einemgemeinsamen Abendessen beschlossen, um das 150-jährige Bestehen der TUM auch in Indien gebührend zu feiern. Unter den 100 Gästen waren lokale Partner, Unterstützer und Freunde der TUM sowie auch TUM Alumni wie Frau Susmita Sinha, Stifterin eines Deutschlandstipendiums für die TUM. Zum 150jährigen Jubiläum gab es einen besonderen TUM-Geburtstagskuchen in Form des Taj Mahal, den alle Gratulanten in entspannter Atmosphäre gemeinsam genossen.