EuroTeQ Engineering University

The EuroTeQ Engineering University emerges from the EuroTech Universities Alliance. The project shows a clear commitment to intra-European cooperation in higher education – to pool strengths and create synergies. For the unique project, which aims to design a joint engineering education, TUM and its EuroTech partners have brought two strong partners on board: Tallinn University of Technology (TalTech) and the Czech Technical University in Prague (CTU).

Together with our regional and European partners, EuroTeQ shares a common understanding of the competencies that engineers will need to have in the future, in order to understand social processes, implement innovations for the benefit of people, and design sustainable value creation processes. 

The EuroTeQ Engineering University is based on this foundation and on a common understanding of European values.

Milestones of an exceptional project

On the way to a European campus

The EuroTeQ partners want to educate the best global talents in science and technology. To this end, they will build a joint, future-oriented engineering study program across disciplines, national borders, and institutions. Its study content extends far beyond the consideration of individual technologies.

Within the program, all learners benefit from individually designed curricula, new digital and challenge-based formats and receive continuous training offers in the spirit of lifelong learning. New course formats and micro-credentials will be developed bottom-up and tested through a call for proposals starting in spring 2021. The ambition is to increase physical and virtual mobility of students and the entire academic and non-academic EuroTeQ community.  

The EuroTeQ Campus will also be open to interested parties who have not yet obtained an academic degree or are not aiming for one, but who play important roles in the value creation and communication processes. Offers are designed for and with vocational and professional learners, to strengthen societal cohesion across Europe. Co-creation with industry, engineering associations, and various social sectors is essential in order to identify the challenges of the 21st century and to find joint solutions. 

EuroTeQ Collider: Challenge-based project weeks with societal relevance

The EuroTeQ-Collider is the heart of the joint initiative: students, trainees in technology-related professional fields, and stakeholders from society and industry come together to develop concrete approaches to solving current problems. 

The colliders take place in the form of project weeks, which run in parallel at the respective partners. The first call for ideas, which will shape the Collider at all locations is already planned for the fall of 2021. The various projects developed will be presented in a public EuroTechaThon event. 

The success of the EuroTeQ Collider is ensured by the diversity of the participants and associated partners, who perfectly reflect the European zeitgeist. 

Co-creation, lifelong learning, and a common research agenda

Under the label EuroTeQ Professional, the Alliance envisions a qualification program for lifelong learning, including a sustainability-oriented exchange between engineers, associations, and stakeholders of local ecosystems as well as SMEs and global companies. The experience gained from the EuroTeQ Collider will make it possible to rethink the current European Qualifications Framework in cooperation with all associated partners of the project, who will jointly contribute to a realistic and generally accepted system of qualification levels in Europe. In addition, a certificate program called EuroTeQ Professional will be created. 

The EuroTeQ Connector unites the research agenda of the EuroTeQ Engineering University. Through the interaction between the different social actors, the quality of the project is comprehensively evaluated and the results are attributed accordingly. The goal is to institutionalize active collaboration with all associated partners to guarantee the long-term sustainability of the project.

The complementary Horizon 2020 project BoostEuroTeQ focuses on novel teaching and innovation formats that are created in cooperation with all stakeholders. With a program for learning professionals and qualification offers for engineers with professional experience, the EuroTeQ contribution to lifelong learning becomes even more significant. In addition, BoostEuroTeQ supports the research agenda EuroTeQ Connector with an analysis of the existing instruments for co-creative teaching and innovation as well as a roadmap for the further development of these offers.

National co-funding provides offers for the TUM family

In addition to the European initiative, German universities receive funding from the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), to support their efforts in becoming a European University. Therefore, at TUM we are able to develop additional offers for students and faculty that support the establishment of the EuroTeQ Campus. The TUM Global & Alumni Office is working together with the TUM Language Center on a series of workshops to raise intercultural awareness specifically for future engineers.

Another task is the development of additional digital study and qualification offers for TUM students that are also open to the alliance partners. For this purpose, TUM and its partners offer a call for proposals for the development of digital initiatives in the field of study and teaching via the EuroTeQ Teaching Fund. In this way, digital formats of teaching, learning, and testing at TUM are advanced and innovative transdisciplinary teaching formats and micro-credentials.

In addition, the TUM Global & Alumni Office is piloting a virtual mobility program for the EuroTeQ Campus to complement physical mobility with Erasmus+. This enriches the study offers with a digital component and within an international classroom at TUM and the partner institutions. 

EuroTeQ – a prestige project of the European Commission

The European Universities Initiative, introduced by French President Emmanuel Macron, is one of the European Commission's most prestigious calls for proposals. The objective of this promotional instrument is to establish ambitious European university alliances over the next few years that will make the European university landscape even stronger in the fierce competition with the USA and Asia. The EU is funding the project as part of its European Universities program over the next three years with around five million euros through Erasmus funding and an additional two million euros from Horizon 2020.

Current calls for proposals and offers

EuroTeQ Engineering University

Die EuroTeQ Engineering University geht aus der EuroTech Universities Alliance hervor. Sie ist ein klares Bekenntnis zu innereuropäischer Kooperation in der Hochschulbildung – um Stärken zu bündeln und Synergien zu schaffen. Für das einzigartige Projekt zur Gestaltung einer gemeinsamen Ingenieurausbildung haben die TUM und ihre EuroTech-Partner zwei weitere starke Partner an Bord geholt: die Technische Universität Tallinn (TalTech) und die Technische Universität in Prag (CTU).

Mit unseren regionalen und europäischen Partnern verbindet uns ein gemeinsames Verständnis über die Kompetenzen, die Ingenieure in der Zukunft haben müssen, um gesellschaftliche Prozesse zu verstehen, Innovationen zum Nutze der Menschen umzusetzen und Wertschöpfungsprozesse nachhaltig zu gestalten. 

Auf dieser Basis und auf einer gemeinsamen Auffassung von europäischen Werten basiert die EuroTeQ Engineering University.

Meilensteine eines Ausnahmeprojekts

Auf dem Weg zu einem europäischen EuroTeQ-Campus

Die EuroTeQ-Partner haben es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die besten globalen Talente in Wissenschaft und Technologie auszubilden. Dafür wird über Disziplinen, Ländergrenzen und Institutionen hinweg ein gemeinsames, zukunftsfähiges ingenieurwissenschaftliches Studienprogramm aufgebaut, dessen Studieninhalte weit über die Betrachtung einzelner Technologien hinausreichen.

Innerhalb des Programms werden alle Zielgruppen mit individuell gestaltbaren Studienplänen und neuen digitalen Formaten ausgebildet und im Sinne des lebenslangen Lernens kontinuierlich fortgebildet. Neue Lehrformate sollen durch eine Ausschreibung ab dem Frühjahr 2021 bottom-up entwickelt und getestet werden. Dabei steht die Steigerung von physischer wie virtueller Mobilität von Studierenden, aber auch allen am Campus Mitwirkenden, im Vordergrund. 

Der EuroTeQ-Campus soll auch Interessierten offenstehen, die bislang keinen akademischen Abschluss haben oder anstreben, aber in den Wertschöpfungs- und Kommunikationsprozessen wichtige Rollen spielen. Gemeinsam möchten wir damit den sozialen Zusammenhalt in Europa stärken. Co-Creation mit der Industrie, Verbänden und verschiedenen gesellschaftlichen Bereichen ist essenziell, um die Herausforderungen im 21. Jahrhundert zu identifizieren und gemeinsam Lösungsansätze zu finden. 

EuroTeQ-Collider: Innovative Projektwochen mit gesellschaftlicher Relevanz

Der EuroTeQ-Collider ist das Herzstück der gemeinsamen Initiative: Studierende, Auszubildende in techniknahen Berufsfeldern sowie Akteure aus Gesellschaft und Industrie kommen zusammen, um konkrete Lösungsansätze für aktuelle Problemstellungen zu erarbeiten. 

Der Erfolg des EuroTeQ-Colliders wird durch die Vielfalt der Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer sowie der assoziierten Partner sichergestellt, die den europäischen Zeitgeist perfekt widerspiegeln. Die Collider finden in Form von Projektwochen parallel an den jeweiligen Partnern statt. Bereits für den Herbst 2021 ist die erste Ausschreibung der Projektwochen an allen Standorten geplant. In einem EuroTechaThon werden die verschiedenen Projekte zum Abschluss präsentiert. 

Co-Creation, lebenslanges Lernen und eine gemeinsame Forschungsagenda

Unter dem Label EuroTeQ Professional wurde die Agenda zu einem Qualifizierungsprogramm für lebenslanges Lernen erstellt, das unter anderem einen nachhaltig orientierten Austausch zwischen Ingenieuren, Verbänden und Interessenvertretern der lokalen Ökosysteme sowie KMUs und globalen Unternehmen beinhaltet. Die aus den EuroTeQ-Collider-Projektwochen gewonnenen Erfahrungswerte werden es ermöglichen, den derzeitigen Europäischen Qualifikationsrahmen in Zusammenarbeit mit allen assoziierten Partnern des Projekts zu überdenken und gemeinsam zu einem realistischen und allgemein akzeptierten System von Qualifikationsniveaus in Europa beizutragen. Zudem soll ein Zertifikatsprogramm mit dem Namen EuroTeQ Professional entstehen. 

Hinter dem EuroTeQ-Connector verbirgt sich die Forschungsagenda der EuroTeQ Engineering University. Durch die Interaktion zwischen den verschiedenen gesellschaftlichen Akteuren kann die Qualität des Projekts umfassend bewertet und die Ergebnisse entsprechend zugeordnet werden. Ziel ist es, die aktive Zusammenarbeit mit allen assoziierten Partnern zu institutionalisieren, um die langfristige Nachhaltigkeit des Projekts zu garantieren.

Das komplementäre Projekt BoostEuroTeQ legt den Fokus auf neuartige Lehr-und Innovationsformate, die im Zusammenspiel mit allen Akteuren entstehen. Mit einem Programm für Learning professionals und Qualifizierungsangeboten für Ingenieure mit Berufserfahrung wird der EuroTeQ-Beitrag zum lebenslangen Lernen noch bedeutsamer. Zudem unterstützt BoostEuroTeQ die Forschungsagenda EuroTeQ-Connector mit einer Analyse der bestehenden Instrumente für Co-creative Teaching und Innovation sowie einer Roadmap für die Weiterentwicklung dieser Lehrangebote.

Nationales Begleitprogramm – Angebote für die TUM-Familie

Neben der EU-Initiative werden deutsche Hochschulen bei der Gründung Europäischer Hochschulen vom Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD) gefördert. Daher können wir an der TUM zusätzliche Angebote für Studierende und Lehrende entwickeln, die den Aufbau des EuroTeQ-Campus unterstützen. So arbeitet das TUM Global & Alumni Office gemeinsam mit dem TUM Sprachenzentrum an einer Workshop-Reihe zur interkulturellen Sensibilisierung speziell für zukünftige Ingenieurinnen und Ingenieure.

Eine weitere Aufgabe ist die Entwicklung von zusätzlichen digitalen Studien- und Qualifizierungsangeboten für TUM-Studierende, die auch den Allianzpartnern offenstehen. Die TUM und ihre Partner bieten hierfür eine Ausschreibung zur Entwicklung von digitalen Initiativen im Bereich Studium und Lehre über den EuroTeQ Teaching Fund an. Darüber sollen digitale Formate des Lehrens, Lernens und Prüfens an der TUM vorangetrieben sowie innovative transdisziplinäre Lehrformate und Micro-Credentials entwickelt werden.

Zudem pilotiert das TUM Global & Alumni Office komplementär zu physischer Mobilität ein virtuelles Mobilitätsprogramm für den EuroTeQ-Campus. Dieses ermöglicht ein qualitativ hochwertiges und in Studienabläufe gut integrierbares Qualifizierungsangebot mit digitaler Komponente an der TUM und den Partnerinstitutionen.

EuroTeQ – ein Prestige-Projekt der Europäischen Kommission

Die European Universities Initiative, die auf den französischen Präsidenten Emmanuel Macron zurückgeht, ist eine der Prestige-Ausschreibungen der Europäischen Kommission. Ziel des Förderinstruments ist es, in den nächsten Jahren ambitionierte europäische Universitäts-Allianzen aufzubauen, die die europäischen Hochschulen im Wettbewerb mit den USA und Asien noch stärker machen. Die EU fördert das Projekt im Rahmen ihres European Universities-Programms in den nächsten drei Jahren mit rund fünf Millionen Euro über Erasmus-Fördermittel und zusätzlichen zwei Millionen Euro aus Horizon 2020.

Aktuelle Ausschreibungen und Angebote