Flagship partnership with the University of Queensland

In April 2021, the alliance with The University of Queensland (UQ) in Australia sealed TUM's third flagship partnership. By joining forces, this partnership aims to drive research topics of great societal relevance even further in the future. There is a particular focus on sustainability and the bioeconomy, digital agricultural and food sciences, hydrogen technology and green energy production, as well as precision medicine.

TUM has had a very special relationship with UQ, one of Australia's top-ranked universities, since 2010. Despite the geographical distance, the TUM-UQ bond developed within just a few years into a partnership that spans a variety of disciplines and is characterized by a wide range of activities. In addition to numerous successful joint research projects and symposia, various mobility programs for students and administrators have also helped to advance the exchange and cooperation between the two universities at all levels.

Partnership highlights

Sealing of the TUM-UQ flagship partnership

In April 2021, TUM President Professor Thomas F. Hofmann and UQ Vice-Chancellor and President Professor Deborah Terry AO officially concluded the TUM-UQ flagship partnership. Now there is nothing standing in the way of the ambitious expansion plans of TUM and UQ. While the focus of the partnership is on such themes as bioeconomy and sustainability, digital agriculture and food science, hydrogen and green energy, and medicine, both partners place great emphasis on interdisciplinarity and the sustainable expansion of other emerging topics.

The integration of entrepreneurship and innovation in all future activities is to play a particularly important role.

Global Bioeconomy Alliance – a trilateral initiative of TUM, UQ, and UNESP

In June 2018, the Memorandum of Understanding for the formation of the Global Bioeconomy Alliance (GBA) was signed during a Bioeconomy Symposium. The three founding members of this alliance were represented at the signing ceremony by Prof. Juliane Winkelmann, TUM Vice President for International Alliances and Alumni, Prof. Volker Sieber, Rector of the TUM Campus Straubing, Prof. Paul Young, Head of the UQ School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences, and Prof. Carlos Vergani, Head of the Rectorate of the Universidade Estadual Paulista (UNESP, Brazil).

The aim of the GBA is to discuss the most pressing issues of a bio-based industry in research and education on a global level and to develop and implement joint initiatives to promote bioeconomy. Since the signing, regular symposia and workshops have been held for this purpose.

The University of Queensland – a long-standing TUM IGSSE project partner

TUM's International Graduate School of Science and Engineering (IGSSE) plays an important role in strengthening international research groups at TUM. The University of Queensland is represented as an international partner in three IGSSE projects. The great success of these projects is evident from the list of publications, presentations, and research proposals.

Microbial Electrosynthesis for Bioproduction of Chemicals (MEB-Chem)
Evolving Synthetic Enzymatic Cascades for Applications for a Sustainable Bioeconomy (E-Cas)
Numerical investigations on high-temperature effects on hypersonic transitional flows (HT)2

Selection of joint projects of TUM and UQ

Funding initiatives for researchers

To support new projects with the University of Queensland, scientists of the Technical University of Munich can apply for funding from the TUM Global Incentive Fund. Within the framework of the TUM Global Visiting Professor Program, it is also possible to invite scientists from UQ to TUM for joint research.

Mobility of students and doctoral candidates

Via the TUMexchange program, TUM students can study at UQ and UQ students can study at TUM. Doctoral students receive support for a stay at UQ through the TUM Graduate School Partnership Mobility Grant. For them, the TUM-UQ Joint Supervision Program also enables a longer research stay with the partner.

Flaggschiff-Partnerschaft mit der University of Queensland

Im April 2021 wurde durch das Bündnis mit der University of Queensland (UQ) in Australien die dritte Flaggschiff-Partnerschaft der TUM besiegelt. Mit vereinten Kräften sollen Forschungsthemen von großer gesellschaftlicher Relevanz künftig noch stärker vorangetrieben werden. Der Fokus liegt dabei insbesondere auf Nachhaltigkeit und Bioökonomie, digitalen Agrar- und Lebensmittelwissenschaften, Wasserstofftechnologie, grüner Energiegewinnung sowie Präzisionsmedizin.

Mit der UQ verbindet die TUM seit 2010 eine ganz besondere Beziehung. Trotz der geographischen Distanz entwickelte sich die TUM-UQ-Verbindung innerhalb von nur wenigen Jahren in eine Partnerschaft, die sich über eine Vielzahl von Disziplinen erstreckt. Neben zahlreichen erfolgreichen gemeinsamen Forschungsprojekten und Symposien haben auch verschiedene Mobilitätsprogramme für Studierende, Doktoranden und Verwaltungsangestellte dazu beigetragen, den Austausch und die Kooperation der beiden Universitäten auf allen Ebenen voranzutreiben.

Highlights der Zusammenarbeit

Besiegelung der TUM-UQ Flaggschiff-Partnerschaft

Nach der Unterzeichnung der TUM-UQ Flaggschiff-Partnerschaft durch TUM Präsident Professor Thomas F. Hofmann und UQ Vice-Chancellor und Präsidentin Professor Deborah Terry AO im April 2021 steht dem ambitionierten Ausbau der TUM-UQ Kooperation nichts mehr im Wege. Die Schwerpunkte dieser Partnerschaft liegen auf Themen wie Bioökonomie und Nachhaltigkeit, digitale Landwirtschaft und Lebensmittelwissenschaften, Wasserstoff und grüne Energie sowie Medizin.

Beide Partner legen großen Wert auf Interdisziplinarität und den nachhaltigen Ausbau weiterer zukunftsorientierter Themen. Der Einbezug von Entrepreneurship und Innovation soll dabei eine besonders wichtige Rolle spielen.

Global Bioeconomy Alliance – eine trilaterale Initiative der TUM, UQ und UNESP

Im Juni 2018 wurde im Rahmen eines Bioeconomy Symposiums das Memorandum of Understanding zur Gründung der Global Bioeconomy Alliance (GBA) unterzeichnet. Repräsentiert wurden die drei Gründungsmitglieder dieser Allianz bei der Unterzeichnungszeremonie durch Prof. Juliane Winkelmann, TUM-Vizepräsidentin für Internationale Allianzen und Alumni, Prof. Volker Sieber, Rektor des TUM Campus Straubing, Prof. Paul Young, Leiter der UQ School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences sowie Prof. Carlos Vergani, Leiter des Rektorats der Universidade Estadual Paulista (UNESP, Brasilien).

Ziel der GBA ist es, auf globaler Ebene die wichtigsten Themen einer biobasierten Industrie in Forschung und Lehre zu diskutieren und gemeinsame Initiativen zur Förderung der Bioökonomie zu entwickeln und umzusetzen. Seit der Unterzeichnung werden zu diesem Zweck regelmäßig Symposien und Workshops abgehalten.

The University of Queensland – ein längjähriger TUM IGSSE-Projektpartner

Die International Graduate School of Science and Engineering (IGSSE) der TUM spielt eine wichtige Rolle bei der Stärkung internationaler Forschungsgruppen an der TUM. Die University of Queensland ist als internationaler Partner in drei IGSSE-Projekten vertreten. Der große Erfolg dieser Projekte lässt sich an der Liste der Publikationen, Präsentationen und Forschungsanträge ablesen.

Microbial Electrosynthesis for Bioproduction of Chemicals (MEB-Chem)
Evolving Synthetic Enzymatic Cascades for Applications for a Sustainable Bioeconomy (E-Cas)
Numerical investigations on high-temperature effects on hypersonic transitional flows (HT)2

Auswahl gemeinsamer Projekte von TUM und UQ

Förderinitiativen für Forschende

Zur Förderung neuer Projekte mit der University of Queensland können Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler der Technischen Universität München finanzielle Mittel aus dem TUM Global Incentive Fund beantragen. Im Rahmen des TUM Global Visiting Professor Program besteht zudem die Möglichkeit, Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler von der UQ für gemeinsame Forschung an die TUM einzuladen.

Mobilität von Studierenden und Doktoranden

Im Rahmen des TUMexchange-Programms können TUM Studierende an der UQ und UQ-Studierende an der TUM studieren. Promovierende erhalten für einen Aufenthalt an der UQ Unterstützung im Rahmen des TUM Graduate School Partnership Mobility Grant. Für sie besteht durch das TUM-UQ Joint Supervision Program auch die Möglichkeit eines längeren Forschungsaufenthalts beim Partner.