Flagship-Partnership with Imperial College London

In late 2018, Imperial College London (ICL) and Technical University Munich (TUM) entered into a sustainable strategic partnership based on their longstanding collaboration. ICL is considered one of the best technical universities in Europe, and is engaged in manifold research collaborations with TUM. With the flagship partnership, both institutions reconfirm their commitment to international collaboration across borders.

Partnership highlights

Joint Global-Fellows-Program

In 2017, TUM and ICL jointly organize for the first time a joint summer program for doctoral candidates, focusing on an interdisciplinary topic of the future. The program is open to participants from additional selected universities. The program week “Cities of the Future“ marks the kick-off for the annual ICL – TUM Global-Fellows-Program.

Signing the Flagship-Partnership

On October 5, 2018 in London, TUM President Wolfgang A. Herrmann signs the Memorandum of Understanding, to further deepen the collaboration between TUM and ICL. The cooperation will not only further enhance complementary strengths in high tech fields such as Artificial Intelligence, Robotics, and Aerospace, but will also promote activities in transversal institutional topics like appointments, recruitment and career development, and entrepreneurship.

ICL-Delegation visits Munich

In the beginning of 2019, ICL President Alice Gast visits TUM, accompanied by a large academic delegation. More than a dozen academics from Imperial College discuss with their TUM counterparts future joint projects in Digital Medicine, Bioengineering and Energy Technology, and more. Bavarian State Minister Sibler emphasizes the relevance of this partnership through his attendance.

Call for proposals: TUM Global Incentive Fund

As of January 2019, academics from TUM may submit applications to the TUM Global Incentive Fund for joint projects with Imperial College London. For example, the kick-off workshops for future joint research projects are eligible for funding.

TUM and ICL launch joint programs

On June 17 and 18, 2019, TUM President-elect Professor Thomas Hofmann visits Imperial College London. On this occasion, TUM and ICL announce the launch of a joint PhD program at the interface of Artificial Intelligence, Health Care and Robotics. The program will further enhance collaboration in this promising research filed, and lay the base for even more joint research projects. In the context of the visit, Professor Hofmann also engages in a discussion round at the Goethe-Institut London on "Science, Diplomacy and our European Future" .

Selection of TUM and ICL joint projects

Seed funds

Both TUM and Imperial College are committed to supporting initiatives for joint projects. To achieve this goal, both universities offer financial incentives to their members through the TUM Global Incentive Fund and the ICL–TUM Collaboration Fund.

Summer program for PhDs

Since 2017, TUM and ICL have offered the interdisciplinary Global-Fellows-Program “Cities of the Future“ for outstanding doctoral candidates. The program combines activities fostering intercultural and personal competencies as well as professional career development.

Flaggschiff-Partnerschaft mit dem Imperial College London

Basierend auf ihrer langjährigen Zusammenarbeit haben die Technische Universität München (TUM) und das Imperial College London (ICL) Ende 2018 eine nachhaltig orientierte strategische Partnerschaft vereinbart. Das ICL zählt zu den besten technische Universitäten Europas und ist der TUM durch zahlreiche Forschungskooperationen verbunden. Beide Partner sehen in ihrer Vereinbarung auch ein Bekenntnis zur weltweiten Zusammenarbeit.

Highlights der Zusammenarbeit

Gemeinsames Global-Fellows-Programm

Die TUM und das Imperial College organisieren 2017 zusammen mit weiteren herausragenden Universitäten zum ersten Mal ein gemeinsames Sommerprogramm für Doktoranden zu einem interdisziplinären Zukunftsthema. Die Veranstaltung „Cities of the Future“ bildet den Auftakt zum seither jährlich durchgeführten Global-Fellows-Programms der Graduate Schools von TUM und ICL.

Unterzeichnung der Flaggschiff-Partnerschaft

Am 5. Oktober 2018 unterzeichnet TUM-Präsident Wolfgang A. Herrmann in London das Memorandum of Understanding zur Vertiefung der Zusammenarbeit zwischen TUM und ICL. Die Kooperation soll sich nicht nur auf die sich ergänzenden Stärken in den Hochtechnologien wie Künstliche Intelligenz, Robotik sowie Luft- und Raumfahrtbeziehen, sondern auch auf übergreifende institutionelle Themen wie Berufungen, Karriereentwicklung und Entrepreneurship.

ICL-Delegation zu Gast in München

Zum Jahresbeginn 2019 besucht ICL-Präsidentin Alice Gast die TUM mit einer großen Delegation. Mehr als ein Dutzend Wissenschaftler/innen des Imperial College diskutieren mit ihren TUM-Kolleg/innen in Arbeitsgruppen zukünftige gemeinsame Projekte für Themen wie Digitale Medizin, Bioengineering und Energietechnik. Staatsminister Sibler unterstreicht durch seine Teilnahme die Bedeutung der Partnerschaft.

Ausschreibung TUM Global Incentive Fund

Seit Januar 2019 können Wissenschaftler/innen der TUM für gemeinsame Projekte mit dem Imperial College London Fördergelder aus dem TUM Global Incentive Fund beantragen. Auf diese Weise können zum Beispiel Workshops zur Entwicklung zukünftiger Forschungsvorhaben finanziert werden.

TUM und ICL starten gemeinsame Programme

Am 17. und 18. Juni 2019 besucht der designierte Präsident der TUM, Professor Thomas Hofmann, das Imperial College London. Im Rahmen der Delegationsreise wird der Start eines neuen, gemeinsamen Promotionsprogramms an der Schnittstelle zwischen Künstlicher Intelligenz, Gesundheitswissenschaften und Robotik verkündet. Das Programm soll die Zusammenarbeit in diesem wichtigen Zukunftsfeld weiter vertiefen, und die Grundlage für noch mehr gemeinsame Forschungeprojekte bilden. Am Rande des Besuchs nimmt Professor Hofmann auch an einer Diskussionsveranstaltung des Goethe-Instituts London zum Thema "Science, Diplomacy and our European Future" teil. 

Auswahl gemeinsamer Projekte von TUM und ICL

Förderinitiativen

Sowohl der TUM wie auch dem Imperial College ist es ein Anliegen, Initiativen für gemeinsame Projekte zu fördern. Zu diesem Zweck bieten die Universitäten ihren Mitarbeitern finanzielle Unterstützung über den TUM Global Incentive Fund und den ICL–TUM Collaboration Fund.

Sommerprogramm für PhDs

Seit 2017 bieten die TUM und das ICL das interdisziplinäre Global-Fellows-Programm „Cities of the Future“ für herausragende Doktorand/innen an. Es verbindet Aktivitäten zur Förderung interkultureller und persönlicher Kompetenzen mit professioneller Weiterbildung.