TUM Cairo

With the opening of its TUM Cairo office in 2012, the Technical University of Munich (TUM) has expanded its worldwide network to the Middle East and North Africa. TUM Cairo is a hub for networking and mutual knowledge transfer between one of Europe's top universities and its partners in the region.

The office has direct links with the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) and eight other leading German institutions in Cairo. Key missions here include facilitating research and industrial collaborations, recruiting top students and doctoral candidates, cultivating a dynamic alumni network and raising the visibility of TUM as a global brand. TUM Cairo aims to enhance intercultural understanding, which often is the key for science and technology to have a positive impact in the world.

TUM Cairo is one of six liaison offices in addition to Beijing, Brussels, Mumbai, San Francisco and São Paulo. Already in 2002, TUM established its own offshore campus TUM Asia in Singapore. The expansion of a global presence is part of the initiative TUM Global, a core piece of TUM’s institutional strategy which was a part of TUM's successful application within the German Excellence Initiative.

Services

  • Intensifying the scientific exchange and research cooperation with Egyptian universities and research institutes
  • Recruiting highly qualified students, PhD candidates and Postdocs
  • Fostering the alumni network and supporting alumni activities

Events 2020

February 2020, Global Network in Support of Empowering Women in Science

IUPAC Global Women’s Breakfast

Februar 12, 2020, Academy of Scientific Research and Technology

The National Committee for Pure and Applied Chemistry at the Academy of Scientific Research and Technology in Egypt is organizing  a breakfast on 12.02.2020 to empower women in science chaired by Prof. Dr. Nadia Kandile, Titular member of IUPAC and Prof. Dr. Ghada Bassioni, member of IUPAC executive bureau. The meeting will bring together invited speakers from academia, authorities and industry to communicate the latest developments of the role of women in chemistry and science in Egypt. 
This breakfast is part of Global Women's Breakfast on February 12 of 2020. TUM Cairo Liaison Officer is invited to participate in the panel discussion entitled Programs empowering women in science to talk about the TUM programs offered to support women.
 

February 2020, Regional training for study consultants

Workshop

24 -26 February 2020, Europa Schule Cairo

The Europa Schule Cairo is providing a training for the study consultants of the German foreign schools from Egypt and the region in addition to Nairobi. On February 25, Heba Afifi, TUM Senior Regional Manager (Egypt) will hold a presentation on Study at TUM.

February 2020, Study Fair

Event

February 29, 2020, Deutsche Schule der Borromäerinnen (DSB), Cairo

On 29.02.2020 a study fair will take place from 2 p.m. to 5 p.m. at the German Deutsche Schule der Borromäerinnen (DSB), Cairo. DSB Students from grades 10 to 12 will participate in this events. Students from other German foreign schools such as DSB Alex, Europaschule Kairo (ESK), Deutsche Evangelische Oberschule (DEO) and Beverly are also invited to attend. 
During the event, TUM Senior Regional Manager (Egypt) Heba Afifi, will be available at the TUM booth to provide consultation for interested students on studying at the TUM.
 

March 2020, 8th Biannual International Conference “Frontiers in Chemical Sciences”

Information Session,  Faculty of Science, Cairo University

March 3, 2020, Cairo

TUM Cairo Liaison Officer will hold the information session Study and research opportunities at TUM during the 8th Biannual International Conference “Frontiers in Chemical Sciences”. The conference, which serves as a biannual meeting for chemists to exchange ideas, will be hosted by the Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science at Cairo University in Egypt

.

March 2020, Entrepreneurship Opportunities in the Energy Sector

TUM Alumni Event

March 3, 2020, German-Arab Chamber of Industry and Commerce, Cairo

TUM Cairo is organizing a panel discussion on March 3, within the framework of its annual TUM Alumni event. TUM Alumni Dr.-Ing. Ahmed Elguindy and Dr.-Ing. Wessam El-Baz will share their experience about the entrepreneurship opportunities in the energy sector inspired from the TUM research environment. The panel discussion will be moderated by Dr. Ahmed El-Dorghamy – Energy & Environment Consultant. To register for the event, please send an email to cairo@tum.de

 

 

 

April 2020, Your Postdoc Career in Germany - Opportunities for Outstanding Scientists!

Webinar

April, 18, 2020


TUM Cairo is organizing together with the liaison offices of the Freie Universität Berlin the Philipps-Universität Marburg and the Technical University Berlin a webinar for outstanding postdoc scientists.
During the webinar information about the postdoc funding opportunities of TUM and the participating institutions will be presented.  
Interested candidates can register for the webinar on the following link docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSdvYSxh5prhdixybYGVx5XMR2nxwOQEmRkDUBTdwy3YRi2bNA/viewform
Registration deadline is Thursday April 16, 2020

Agenda

12.15  Log in
12:30  Introduction (Moderation by Mrs Hoda El-Mahgoub)
12.40  Alexander von Humboldt Foundation: Prof. Dr. Momen Hanafy - Ambassador Scientist to Egypt 
13:00  Technical University of Munich: Heba Afifi - Senior Regional Manager (Egypt)
13:20  Technische Universität Berlin: Ingy Nafie - Head of  Cairo Liaison Office
13:40  Bibliotheca Alexandrina:  Yousra Sobeih, Head of Scientific Activities Section, Center for Special Studies & Programs (CSSP), Academic Research Sector

14:00  Short break

14:10  German Academic Exchange Service DAAD: Ann-Kathrin Schwarz - Program Coordinator
14:30  Freie Universität Berlin: Hoda El Mahgoub - Head of Cairo Liaison Office
14:50  Philipps-Universität Marburg: Irene El Khorazaty - Head of Cairo Liaison Office
15:10  End of Webinar

Highlights

Launch of the German-Egyptian Network for Genomic Medicine and Population Health

Kick-off for the German Egyptian Network for Advancing Genomic Medicine and Population Health GE-GPx: From December 9 to 11, the Network held its first round-table including a comprehensive workshop at the Goethe-Institut in Cairo, Egypt. The event was chaired by Sir Prof. Magdi Yacoub OM FRS and attended by his Excellency Dr. Khaled Abdel Ghaffar, Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research in Egypt. Read more

 

 

 

Surveying Health, Aging and Retirement in the Middle East

With the aim of starting a dialogue in the field of aging studies, the high-level kick-off meeting Surveying Health, Aging and Retirement in the Middle East took successfully place in Cairo on November 24. The event was hosted by the Academy of Scientific Research and Technology (ASRT) and co-organized by TUM Cairo. It featured the attendance of guest speaker and expert Prof. Axel Börsch-Supan, Professorship Economics of Aging at the TUM School of Management. Read more

TUM Cairo

Mit der Eröffnung des TUM Cairo Büros in 2012 dehnte die Technische Universität München (TUM) ihr weltweites Netzwerk in den Nahen Osten und Nordafrika aus. TUM Cairo gilt als Mittelpunkt für Vernetzung und gegenseitigen Wissenstransfer zwischen einer der Top-Universitäten Europas und ihren Partnern in der Region.

Das Büro ist mit dem Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD) und acht anderen führenden deutschen Institutionen in Kairo direkt verbunden. Zentrale Aufgaben des Büros befassen sich mit der Anbahnung von Forschungs- und industriellen Kooperationen, der Rekrutierung von Top-Studierenden und Doktorandinnen sowie Doktoranden, der Pflege eines dynamischen Alumni-Netzwerks und der Erhöhung der Sichtbarkeit der TUM als globale Marke. TUM Cairo zielt darauf ab, das interkulturelle Verständnis als Schlüssel für Wissenschaft und Technologie zu verbessern, um einen positiven Einfluss in der Welt zu hinterlassen.

TUM Cairo ist eines der sechs Verbindungsbüros neben Peking, Brüssel, Mumbai, San Francisco und São Paulo. Bereits im Jahre 2002 gründete die TUM ihren Campus in Singapur, TUM Asia. Der Ausbau der globalen Präsenz ist Teil der TUM Global Initiative, die ein Kernstück der institutionellen Strategie der TUM  im Rahmen der erfolgreichen Bewerbung bei der Exzellenzinitiative war.

Serviceleistungen

  • Intensivierung des Wissenschaftsaustausches und der Forschungskooperation mit ägyptischen Universitäten und Forschungszentren
  • Betreuung und Rekrutierung hochqualifizierter Studierender, Promovenden und Postdcos vor Ort
  • Kontaktpflege zu ägyptischen Alumni und Unterstützung von Alumni-Arbeit

Veranstaltungen 2020

Februar 2020, Global Network in Support of Empowering Women in Science

IUPAC Global Women’s Breakfast

12. Februar, 2020, Academy of Scientific Research and Technology

Das National Committee for Pure and Applied Chemistry der Akademie für wissenschaftliche Forschung und Technologie in Ägypten  organisiert am 12.02.2020 ein Frühstück, mit dem Ziel Frauen in der Wissenschaft zu fördern. Die Veranstaltung findet unter dem Vorsitz von Prof. Dr. Nadia Kandile, Titularmitglied der IUPAC und Prof. Dr. Ghada Bassioni, Mitglied des IUPAC-Exekutivbüros statt. An dem Treffen werden Referent*innen aus der Wissenschaft, der Industrie sowie Vertreter*innen von Behörden teilnehmen, um über die neuesten Entwicklungen der Frauenrolle in der Chemie und Wissenschaft in Ägypten zu informieren. 
Dieses Frühstück gehört zur Veranstaltung Global Women's Breakfast am 12. Februar 2020. TUM Cairo Liaison Officer ist eingeladen, an der Podiumsdiskussion Programs empowering women in science teilzunehmen, um über die TUM Frauenförderprogramme zu sprechen.
 

Februar 2020, Regionalfortbildung für Berufs- und Studienberater*innen

Workshop

24. -26. Februar 2020, Europa Schule Kairo

Vom 24.-26. Februar findet an der Europa Schule Kairo eine Fortbildung für die Studienberater*innen der deutschen Auslandschulen aus Ägypten und der Region zusätzlich Nairobi statt. Während dieser Veranstaltung wird Heba Afifi, TUM Senior Regional Manager (Egypt) eine Präsentation über das Studium an der TUM halten.

Februar 2020, Studienbörse

Veranstaltung

29. Februar, 2020, Deutsche Schule der Borromäerinnen (DSB), Kairo

Am 29.02.2020 findet an der Deutsche Schule der Borromäerinnen (DSB), Kairo von 14.00 Uhr bis 17.00 Uhr, eine Studienbörse statt. An dieser Börse werden Schülerinnen der Klassen 10 bis 12 aus der DSB teilnehmen. Schüler*innen der anderen deutschen Auslandschulen wie die DSB Alex, Europa Schule Kairo (ESK), Deutsche Evangelische Oberschule (DEO) und Beverly sind ebenfalls zur Veranstaltung eingeladen. 
Während des Events wird Heba Afifi,  TUM Senior Regional Manager (Egypt), den TUM Stand betreuen um interessierte Schüler*innen über das Studieren an der TUM zu beraten.

März 2020, 8th Biannual International Conference “Frontiers in Chemical Sciences”

Infoveranstaltung an der Fakultät für Naturwissenschaften, Kairo Universität

3. März 2020, Kairo

TUM Cairo Liaison Officer wird den Infovortrag Studien- und Forschungsmöglichkeiten an der TUM während der 8. Internationalen Konferenz „Frontiers in Chemical Sciences“ abhalten. Die Konferenz, die alle zwei Jahre stattfindet und zum Gedankenaustausch zwischen Chemikern dient, wird von der Chemieabteilung der Fakultät für Naturwissenschaften der Universität Kairo in Ägypten ausgerichtet.

März 2020, Unternehmerische Möglichkeiten im Energie Sektor

TUM Alumni Event

3. März, 2020, Deutsch-Arabische Industrie und Handelskammer, Kairo

TUM Cairo organisiert am 3. März im Rahmen seiner jährlichen TUM Alumni-Veranstaltung eine Podiumsdiskussion. Inspiriert vom Forschungsumfeld der TUM, berichten die beiden TUM Alumni Dr.-Ing. Ahmed Elguindy und Dr.-Ing. Wessam El-Baz über die unternehmerischen Möglichkeiten im Energiesektor. Die Podiumsdiskussion wird von Dr. Ahmed El-Dorghamy – Energy & Environment Consultant moderiert. Um sich für die Veranstaltung anzumelden, senden Sie bitte eine E-Mail an cairo@tum.de

 

Highlights

Start des German Egyptian Network for Advancing Genomic Medicine and Population Health

Startschuss für das deutsch-ägyptischen Netzwerks für Genommedizin und Bevölkerungsgesundheit GE-GPx: Von 9. bis 11. Dezember fand am Goethe-Institut in Kairo der erste Round-Table des Netzwerks inklusive Workshop für Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen statt. Die Veranstaltung wurde von Sir Prof. Magdi Yacoub OM FRS geleitet. Zur Eröffnung war auch seine Exzellenz Dr. Khaled Abdel Ghaffar, Minister für Hochschulbildung und wissenschaftliche Forschung in Ägypten, anwesend. Lesen Sie mehr

Gesundheit, Altwerden und Pensionierung im Mittleren Osten

Mit dem Ziel, einen Dialog zur Altersforschung in Ägypten und den Nachbarländern zu starten, fand am 24. November ein Expertentreffen in Kairo statt. Die hochrangige Veranstaltung mit dem Titel Surveying Health, Aging and Retirement in the Middle East wurde von der Academy of Scientific Research and Technology (ASRT) ausgerichtet und gemeinsam mit TUM Cairo organisiert. Gastredner war Prof. Axel Börsch-Supan, Professur Economics of Aging an der TUM School of Management. Lesen Sie mehr