TUM Brussels

Since 2012, TUM has maintained a Liaison Office in the EU capital. The main objectives of TUM Brussels are related to the European research, education and innovation agenda.

  • Facilitating and consolidating TUM participation in EU funding programs and initiatives, especially as coordinating institution
  • Intelligence and knowledge brokering: on-site cooperation with EU institutions and key stakeholders
  • Raising TUM's profile on EU and European level, including joint initiatives with Alliance partners
  • Strengthening collaboration: with the EuroTech partners and other European stakeholders
  • Facilitating access: local support for visits and meetings in Brussels for TUM researchers and staff

The Liaison Officer in Brussels works closely together with the EU office of TUM ForTe, the team of TUM International Center and, based on the topic, with the different departments and chairs of TUM. TUM Brussels is integrated in the Brussels Office of the EuroTech Universities Alliance, which officially opened in 2012.

TUM is a founding member of this strategic partnership of six leading Universities of Science and Technology in Europe: EPFL, DTU, L'X, Technion, TU Eindhoven and TUM. Their intensive collaborations across research, education & innovation support the EU’s goals of smart, sustainable and inclusive growth. Together, the partners position themselves with a strong voice in the discussion regarding the changing research, education and innovation landscape in Europe.

TUM Brussels is one of six liaison offices in addition to Beijing, Cairo, Mumbai, San Francisco and São Paulo. Already in 2002, TUM established its own offshore campus TUM Asia in Singapore. The expansion of a global presence is part of the initiative TUM Global, a core piece of TUM’s institutional strategy which was a part of TUM's successful application within the German Excellence Initiative.

Services

  • Facilitation and support of EU research proposals with a EuroTech core consortium
  • Consulting of researchers and university administration on EU topics (e.g. H2020 work programme, policies, PPPs etc.)
  • Knowledge brokering and information management
  • Agenda setting
  • Logistical support in Brussels

TUM Brussels Insights

The new EU Commission and universities: a union that strives for more

The new European Commission under President Ursula von der Leyen (Germany) started its work on December 1, 2019.  A total of six priorities will serve as the guiding principle for their program.

TUM Brussels Liaison Officer Valerie Schegk explains what this might mean for the future of the European research and university landscape.

Events 2020

February 2020, EuroTech Space Workshop

February 20, Taufkirchen-Ottobrunn

At a first meeting of scientists from the EuroTech partner universities in the field of aerospace and geodesy in September 2019, the group exchanged views on complementary research expertise from the individual partner universities and decided to intensify the ollaboration in the furture. In a follow-up workshop at the new TUM Department of Aerospace and Geodesy on February 20, 2020 the focus will be on 'Satellite Remote Sensing and Global Climate Change'. Scientists from all EuroTech partner institutions are invited to participate in the two-day workshop, which will be opened by Prof. Gerhard Kramer Senior Vice President for Research & Innovation at TUM.

The focus of the meeting is to intensify further collaboration in the areas of: teaching, research and innovation as well as funding opportunities of the European Union.

For more information contact Marie-Valerie Schegk.

February 2020, EuroTech Universities' Workshop in Additive Manufacturing

February 21, Garching

The EuroTech Universities Alliance regularly holds workshops to explore joint collaborations in various scientific areas and to support and promote the creation of applications for funding in the European Framework Programme for Research and Innovation (H2020) in EuroTech consortia. In the second half of 2019, the presidents of the EuroTech Universities Alliance defined new focus areas for joint collaboration, one of these new areas is Additive Manufacturing.

A first workshop in this new field will take place on February 21. The aim of the workshop is a first exchange of scientists from all six partner universities, the definition of common cooperation goals and the exploration of future joint projects.

For more information, please contact: Maria-Valerie Schegk

 

March 2020, Exchange of EuroTech Chief Information Officers

March 20, Brussels  

At the suggestion of Dr. Hans Pongratz, Chief Information Officer (CIO) of the TUM, an earlier exchange of the CIOs of the EuroTech partners will be resumed in 2020. In the past, Dr. Pongratz and his colleagues shared several times expereinces with the opportunities and challenges of digitization at universities. The topic is still timely and universities nowadays are facing issues such as European Open Cloud, European Student Card or European Digital Credentials.

At a meeting in Brussels in March, the partners want to exchange best practices on these and other topics and develop common strategies for the future.

For more details, please contact Maria-Valerie Schegk

 

 

Highlights

European Venture Programme

The European Venture Programme offers 20 young startups exclusive access to the entrepreneurship expertise and networking resources available at the four EuroTech Universities. The intensive 12-day programme (seven days beginning of summer, and five days end of summer) takes entrepreneurs on a journey to four different ecosystems, where a mix of thematic workshops, company visits and public pitching competitions will enable the startups to grow their business beyond borders. This unique opportunity, offered to five startups from each technical university (DTU, EPFL, TU/e and TUM), is funded by the four partner universities.

More info about the application process and the start of the next round of the Programme can be found on the website of the EuroTech Universities Alliance.

EuroTech PostDoc Programme

The EuroTechPostdoc Programme is a postdoctoral fellowship programme for young experienced researchers who have already demonstrated excellence and potential in their field of research. It provides its fellows exceptional international research and career development opportunities to promote their outstanding individual potential into a distinct, innovative and competitive profile of a researcher. The four universities of the EuroTech Universities Alliance will grant 80 fellowships divided over two calls for experienced researchers.

Per call, each university grants ten fellowships for a 24-month period to collaborative and interdisciplinary research projects across the Alliance. Applicants may apply within one of the five focus research areas of the EuroTech Universities Alliance: Health & Bioengineering Smart & Urban Mobility Data Science & Engineering High Performance Computing Entrepreneurship & Innovation.

Further information about the EuroTech PostDoc Programme and its application process

TUM Brussels

Seit 2012 ist die TUM mit einem Verbindungsbüro in der Hauptstadt der Europäischen Union vertreten. Die Kernziele des TUM Brussels Büros sind eng mit der Europäischen Wissenschafts-, Bildungs- und Innovationsagenda verknüpft.

  • Die Beteiligung der TUM an EU Förderprogrammen und Initiativen unterstützen und festigen, vor allem in koordinierender Funktion.
  • Information und Wissenstransfer durch die direkte Zusammenarbeit mit EU Institutionen und Schlüsselakteuren vor Ort.
  • Das Profil der TUM in der EU und europaweit stärken, unter anderem durch gemeinsame Initiativen mit den Partnern der EuroTech Alliance.
  • Stärkung der Zusammenarbeit mit den EuroTech Partnern und anderen europäischen Institutionen.
  • Einfacher und schneller Zugang durch die Unterstützung der TUM Wissenschaftlerinnen sowie Wissenschaftler und Mitarbeitende vor Ort, sei es für Besuche oder Meetings in Brüssel.

Der Liaison Officer in Brüssel arbeitet eng mit dem TUM ForTe EU Büro, dem TUM International Center und, je nach Thema, mit den Fakultäten, Instituten und Lehrstühlen der TUM zusammen. TUM Brussels ist in das Brüsseler Büro der EuroTech Universities Alliance integriert, das offiziell im Oktober 2012 eröffnet wurde.

Die TUM ist Gründungsmitglied der EuroTech Universities Alliance, einer strategischen Allianz führender technischer Universitäten in Europa: EPFL, DTU,  L'X, Technion, TU Eindhoven und TUM. Die Partner verbindet Exzellenz in Forschung, Ausbildung, Technologietransfer und Unternehmertum. Gemeinsam bringen sich die Partner mit einer starken und klaren Stimme in den Diskurs in der sich wandelnden Forschungs-, Innovations- und Hochschullandschaft in Europa und darüber hinaus ein.

TUM Brussels ist eines der sechs Verbindungsbüros neben Peking, Kairo, Mumbai, San Francisco und São Paulo. Bereits im Jahre 2002 gründete die TUM ihren Campus in Singapur, TUM Asia. Der Ausbau der globalen Präsenz ist Teil der TUM Global Initiative, die ein Kernstück der institutionellen Strategie der TUM im Rahmen der erfolgreichen Bewerbung bei der Exzellenzinitiative war.

Serviceleistungen

  • Anschub und Unterstützung von H2020 Anträgen, die in einem EuroTech Konsortium gestellt werden
  • Beratung von Wissenschaftlern und Wissenschaftsmanagern bzgl. EU Themen (e.g. H2020 Arbeitsprogrammen, Politikinitiativen, PPPs etc.)
  • Wissens- und Informationstransfer
  • Positionierung
  • Logistische Unterstützung in Brüssel (Besprechungsraum etc.)

TUM Brussels Insights

Die neue EU-Kommission und die Universitäten: Gemeinsam mehr für Europa erreichen

Am 1. Dezember 2019 hat die neue Europäische Kommission unter Präsidentin Ursula von der Leyen (Deutschland) ihre Arbeit aufgenommen. Insgesamt sechs Prioritäten sollen der Arbeit als Leitmotiv dienen.

TUM Brussels Liaison Officer Valerie Schegk erklärt, was diese sechs Schwerpunkte für die Zukunft der Europäische Forschungs- und Universitätslandschaft bedeuten.

Veranstaltungen 2020

Februar 2020, EuroTech Space Workshop

20. Februar, Taufkirchen-Ottobrunn 

Bei einem ersten Treffen von Wissenschaftler*innen der EuroTech Partner Universitäten im Bereich Luft- und Raumfahrt sowie Gedäsie im September 2019  hat sich die Gruppe zu komplementären Forschungsexpertisen der einzelnen Partneruniversitäten ausgetauscht und beschlossen die beginnende Kollaboration zu intensivieren. In einem Folgeworkshop am 20. Februar 2020, an der neuen TUM Fakültät für Luftfahrt, Raumfahrt und Geodäsie wird der Fokus auf dem Thema 'Satellite Remote Sensing and Global Climate Change' liegen. Wissenschaftler*innen von allen EuroTech Partner Institutionen sind eingeladen an dem zweitägigen Workshop teilzunehmen, der von Prof. Gerhard Kramer Vizepräsident für Forschung & Innovation an der TUM eröffnet werden wird. 

Im Fokus des Treffens stehen die Intensivierung der weiteren Kollaboration in den Bereichen: Lehre, Forschung und Innovation sowie die Fördermöglichkeiten durch die Europäische Union.  

Bei Interesse kontaktieren Sie bitte Maria-Valerie Schegk.

Februar 2020, EuroTech Universities Workshop im Bereich Additive Manufacturing

21. Februar, Garching

Dir EuroTech Universities Alliance veranstaltet regelmäßig Workshops um gemeinsame Kollaborationen in unterschiedlichen wissenschaftlichen Bereichen auszuloten und das Entstehen von Anträgen für Fördermitteln im europäischen Rahmenprogramm für Forschung und Innovation (H2020) in EuroTech Konsortien zu unterstützen und zu fördern. In der 2. Jahreshälfte von 2019 haben die Präsidenten der EuroTech Universities Alliance neue Schwerpunkthemen für die gemeinsame Kollaboration definiert, ein neuer Bereich ist Additive Manufacturing. 

Am 21. Februar findet ein erster Workshop im Bereich Additive Manufacturing statt. Ziel des Workshops ist ein erster Austasch von Wissenschaftler*innen von allen sechs Partneruniversitäten, die Definition gemeinsamer Kooperationsziele und die Auslotung von zukünftogen gemeinsamen Projekten.

Für mehr Informationen, kontaktieren Sie bitte Maria-Valerie Schegk

 

März 2020, Austausch der EuroTech Chief Information Officers

20. März, Brüssel

Auf Vorschlag von Dr. Hans Pongratz, Chief Information Officer (CIO) der TUM, wiird ein früherer Austausch der CIOs der EuroTech Partner in 2020 wieder aufgenommen. Bereits in der Vergangenheit hat sich Dr. Pongratz mehrmals mit seinen Kollegen zu den Möglichkeiten und Herausfoderungen  der Digitalisierung an Universitäten ausgetauscht. Das Thema ist nach wie vor aktuell und Universitäten sehen sich Themen wie European Open Cloud, European Student Card oder European Digital Credentials gegenüber gestellt. 

Bei einem Treffen in Brüssel in März wollen die Partner zu diesen und anderen Themen best practices Austauschen sowie gemeinsame Startegien für die Zukunft entwickeln.

Für mehr Informationen, bitte kontaktieren Sie Marie-Valerie Schegk 

 

Highlights

European Venture Programme

Das European Venture Programme bietet 20 jungen Startups exklusiven Zugang zur Expertise im Bereich Unternehmertum bzw. zum unternehmerischen Netzwerk der vier EuroTech Partneruniversitäten. Jeder Kurs besteht aus einem intensiven 12-Tage-Programm und setzt sich aus einer Mischung aus themenbezogenen Workshops, Firmenbesuchen und öffentlichen Pitch Wettbewerben zusammen. Dadurch wird es den Startups ermöglicht, ihre Geschäftsidee auch über nationale Grenzen hinaus zu entwickeln. Dieses einmalige Programm wird durch die vier Partneruniversitäten finanziert und bietet in jeder Runde jeweils fünf Startups pro Partner (DTU, EPFL, TU/e and TUM) die Möglichkeit, daran teilzunehmen.

Mehr Information zur Teilnahme, dem Bewerbungsverfahren und der nächsten Runde finden Sie auf der Webseite der EuroTech Universities Alliance.

Das EuroTech PostDoc-Programm

Das EuroTechPostdoc-Programm wendet sich an Nachwuchs­wissenschaftler­innen und -wissenschaftler, die schon erste Forschungserfolge vorweisen können. Ziel des Programms ist es, den Teilnehmenden die Möglichkeit zu geben, internationale Erfahrung zu sammeln und ihr akademischer Profil weiter zu entwickeln und zu stärken. Im Rahmen des Programms werden 80 Postdoc-Stellen für 24 Monate an einer der vier EuroTech-Universitäten angeboten.

Wer sich bewerben möchte, muss entweder eine abgeschlossene Promotion oder mindestens vier Jahre Forschungserfahrung im entsprechenden Fachgebiet nachweisen. Bestandteil der Bewerbung ist ein klar definiertes, eigenständiges Forschungsprojekt. Dieses muss in einen der folgenden fünf Forschungs­schwerpunkte fallen: Health & Bioengineering Smart & Urban Mobility Data Science & Engineering High Performance Computing Entrepreneurship & Innovation.

Weitere Informationen zur Bewerbung für das EuroTech PostDoc-Programm